Reminders

Zaid bin Thabit

Zaid bin Thabit (Radhiyallaho anho) is one of those eminent Sahabah who are considered to be most learned and whose words in religious matters carry much weight. . He was an expert in regulations regarding obligatory practices. It is said that he was among the top ranking jurists, judges and Qaris. He was only 11 when the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) emigrated to Madinah. That is why, in spite of his eagerness, he was not allowed to participate in the early battles like Badr, etc. He had lost his father when he was six. When the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) arrived in Madinah, people brought their children to him to receive his blessing. Zaid was also brought to him for the same purpose. He says: “When I was presented to the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam), he was informed that I had then memorised seventeen soorahs of the Qur’an. In order to test me, he bade me to recite some of these. I recited Surah Qaaf, He rewarded me with his words of appreciation.” The Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam), when writing letters to the Jews outside Madinah, used to utilise the services ofthe local Jews. Once he said to Zaid, �I am not satisfied with what the Jews write and read for me. I apprehend mischief from them in miswriting or misreading. I desire you to learn the Jewish language.” Zaid (Radhiyallaho anho) says: “In fifteen days, I mastered Hebrew and after that I started doing all such correspondence for him.” According to another Hadith, Zaid (Radhiyallaho anho) is reported to have similarly mastered the Syriac language at the instance of the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam). He managed this within the short period of 17 days only.

